About Us

The Brain Foundation is a registered charity established in 1970 by neurologists and neurosurgeons.


The Brain Foundation is dedicated to funding the highest quality Australian research into neurological disorders, diseases, and injuries, with the ultimate goal of advancing diagnoses, treatments, and patient outcomes.

There is no cure without research.

What we do

Our work involves:

  • Our annual grants program. Read more about our funding process here.
  • Raising awareness about the prevalence and impact of brain disorders, diseases & injuries.
  • Educating patients & clinicians through webinar events and medically reviewed articles.
  • Community support & advocacy (for migraine and headache particularly).
  • Keeping our supporters up to date on the latest medical news through our newsletters & social media.

Our research grants receive no government funding, relying on the generosity of individuals, corporate donors and bequests. Your support will make a difference – now and for generations to come.

Migraine & Headache Australia

Migraine & Headache Australia is the only organisation in Australia that has supported the more than 6 million Australians affected by migraine and headache for over twenty years. Migraine & Headache Australia is a division of the Brain Foundation.


The Brain Foundation was established as the Australian Neurological Foundation in 1970.

For many years in the mid-twentieth century, Australian neurologists struggled with inadequate facilities for treating patients, and a lack of support for research. Many of the best practitioners went overseas to gain experience.

The founding members included business professionals and scientists, including some of the most prominent Australian neurologists at the time.

  • Dr John Game – remembered for ‘shaping the development and organisation of Australian neurology for some two decades’. A founding member of the Australian Association of Neurologists (AAN).
  • Dr Edward Robertson – founding member of the AAN.
  • Professor James Lance AO – first chair of neurology to be appointed in Australia. Prof Lance also discovered triptans, which revolutionised migraine treatment.
  • Professor Keith Bradley – neurologist.
  • Lord Casey – politician.
  • Mr Frank Dethridge – lawyer.

The National focus in the founding years was a major public appeal, funding of research grants, support services such as the National Stroke Project, and community education programs such as a National Symposium on Head Injuries.

In 1995, Professor Lance established Migraine & Headache Australia. Even after retiring as a clinician, he continued to support people with headache disorders.


The Brain Foundation is run by the Board of Directors, our Scientific Advisory Committee, and executive staff. These groups hold each other accountable and ensure that everything we do supports the advancement of neurological research.

Please visit our Board & Staff page to read more about the individual board members.



  • Trevor Thompson, Chief Executive Officer
  • Beata Roman, National Financial Controller

Telephone: 1300 886 660  or  02 9437 5967

Please Help Us Help Those

with brain disease or disorders and brain and spinal injuries by donating to the research program.

Headache Australia
Brain FoundationThe Brain Foundation is the largest, independent funder of brain and spinal injury research in Australia. We believe research is the pathway to recovery.